On The Loose

As you can probably tell I spent my formative years as a Girl Scout. I know, I know, it’s obvious with all my epic hiking and camping every chance I get. It’s not like I only use my Swiss Army Knife to open beer, wine, and cut up apples for my peanut butter.

Let’s be honest, I was in it for the cookies. And the camp.

Now this was not the- ‘find some woods nearby and pitch a few tents with your troop’ camp. This was ‘hundreds of girls descending for a week of lanyard braiding’ at a year round camp in the hills of Julian, CA.

Even after I no longer had a troop I kept up with those GS fees so I could go to these camps every summer. And at the end of every week, at a summer camp of fast friends, came an emotional  last night. With the tears came smores, stars, and this song that’s been stuck in my head ever since:

Have you ever seen the sunrise turn the sky completely red?
Have you slept beneath the moon and stars with a pine bough for your head?
Have you sat and talked with friends, though a word was never said?
Then you’re like me and you’ve been on the loose.
Chorus:
On the loose to climb a mountain,
On the loose where I am free.
On the loose to live my life,
The way I think my life should be.
For I’ve only got a moment,
And a whole world yet to see,
And I’ll be searching for tomorrow, on the loose.
There’s a trail that I’ll be hiking
Just to see where it might go.
Many places yet to visit,
Many people yet to know.
And in following my dreams,
I will live and I will grow,
On a trail that’s out there waiting, on the loose.
Chorus
So in search of love and laughter,
I’ll be travelling through this land.
Never sure of where I’m going,
For I haven’t any plans.
But in time when you are ready,
Come and join me, take my hand.
And together we’ll find life,
Out on the loose!
Chorus

And that’s where the name of my blog comes from and why I enjoy posting pics of the sky completely red.

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Thank you Catie, You remind us of what is important in our lives. Thanks for making our world better for the people you meet and help.

  2. Hi Catie! Nice to get your ‘On The Loose Message” – The song sounds like you and I’m glad to get the explanation for the name of your blog! We enjoyed another visit with your folks and so glad for them that they got to start, finally, on their way to their home in Wash. Hope you had a happy birthday celebration – I did think of you, so far away from us. Lots of love, Grandma

Leave a Reply

